The Ugly Meter

If you have ever wondered how badly you were beaten with the ugly stick, there’s a new App for that! It’s called the Ugly Meter and it rates you from one to ten on a scale of hideousness. The makers claim the meter decides your ghoulishness based upon your facial structure.

For this blog post, my initial idea was to display the results of my ugly meter. Then, I decided in this economy it would be reckless to waste 99 cents (or $4.99 for the pro version) on such a pointless application. Plus, I don’t want to be placed on whatever watch list will be put together from this. I’m sure you would be profiled with the likes of Jersey Shore cast members and high school bullies.  Instead, I thought I would use my journalistic skills to find pics of the creators of this app online and see what kind of human being tricks people into paying $5 in order the be degraded. Two dudes created the App. I found the first mug on an online video blog called mixergy.com. This is Jo Overline..

Honestly, I pictured someone with a large chin and a Harvard sweatshirt draped over his shoulders. Instead, I found Jo with only 5 Twitter followers and uneven facial hair. According to his own App, Jo rates a 9.8 out of 10 on the ugly scale (which they show in the App Store). As for his partner, Ryan Allen, I found this picture on his Twitter page.

Ryan claims to have scored a 2 on the ugly scale (which is good). Apparently, he thinks he’s  the stud of this dynamic duo. Either way, I thought these guys would be handsome men who enjoyed telling other people they are ugly. Instead, I found two graphic artists who had a gimicky idea, which may have turned them into millionaires. Good for them! I look forward to their next big idea.


Leave a comment